Skip to content
Coventry Counts — Coventry, in numbers.Local help →

Coventry · England

People and living standards

Coventry council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Coventry

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Coventry local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 303,871 in 1991 to 364,766 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Coventry council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 306,426 people in 1996; 364,766 people in 2025. 19% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Coventry council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991303,871
1992302,938
1993302,585
1994301,695
1995303,096
1996306,426
1997304,736
1998305,005
1999304,840
2000303,066
2001302,804
2002301,295
2003300,665
2004298,174
2005298,386
2006300,129
2007301,429
2008305,186
2009307,393
2010311,674
2011316,915
2012318,141
2013322,146
2014325,066
2015331,112
2016337,064
2017340,034
2018342,811
2019343,715
2020344,702
2021344,151
2022352,215
2023360,269
2024368,707
2025364,766
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Coventry council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 67,096 people in 1996; 70,825 people in 2025. 5.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Coventry council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199164,004
199264,611
199365,373
199466,091
199566,432
199667,096
199766,708
199866,534
199965,337
200064,386
200163,478
200261,908
200360,773
200459,635
200559,173
200659,182
200759,798
200860,624
200961,388
201062,093
201162,966
201263,587
201364,440
201465,325
201566,369
201667,615
201768,102
201868,953
201969,084
202068,836
202168,441
202269,102
202370,764
202471,979
202570,825
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Coventry council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 191,829 people in 1996; 242,238 people in 2025. 26.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Coventry council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991192,223
1992190,537
1993189,480
1994187,967
1995188,998
1996191,829
1997190,864
1998191,566
1999193,101
2000192,704
2001193,364
2002193,475
2003194,181
2004193,046
2005193,887
2006195,948
2007196,778
2008199,499
2009200,470
2010203,482
2011207,471
2012207,140
2013209,624
2014211,131
2015215,687
2016220,116
2017222,449
2018224,035
2019224,578
2020225,625
2021225,244
2022232,361
2023238,560
2024245,342
2025242,238
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Coventry council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,501 people in 1996; 51,703 people in 2025. 8.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Coventry council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199147,644
199247,790
199347,732
199447,637
199547,666
199647,501
199747,164
199846,905
199946,402
200045,976
200145,962
200245,912
200345,711
200445,493
200545,326
200644,999
200744,853
200845,063
200945,535
201046,099
201146,478
201247,414
201348,082
201448,610
201549,056
201649,333
201749,483
201849,823
201950,053
202050,241
202150,466
202250,752
202350,945
202451,386
202551,703
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 345,321 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Coventry · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh63,91518.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African30,7238.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups11,7313.4%
White226,24665.5%
Other ethnic group12,7063.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 316,960 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Coventry · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White234,02973.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8,2302.6%
Asian/Asian British51,59816.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British17,7645.6%
Other ethnic group5,3391.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 300,848 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Coventry · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White252,64384%
Mixed5,1631.7%
Asian/Asian British33,91011.3%
Black/Black British5,4121.8%
Chinese/Other3,7201.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 23.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Coventry council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,922 per person in 1997; £19,773 per person in 2024. 121.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Coventry council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,922
19988,909
19999,324
200010,065
200110,458
200210,749
200310,865
200411,384
200511,227
200611,452
200712,120
200812,394
200912,822
201012,962
201113,075
201213,491
201313,875
201414,367
201514,765
201615,194
201715,515
201815,901
201916,395
202016,495
202117,233
202217,966
202318,921
202419,773
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Coventry council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -15.9% in 1997; -23.8% in 2024. 7.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Coventry council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-15.9
1998-17.7
1999-17.6
2000-15.4
2001-15.5
2002-15
2003-16.6
2004-16.1
2005-20.1
2006-21.8
2007-21
2008-21.3
2009-19.9
2010-19.7
2011-19.8
2012-20.1
2013-20.8
2014-20.5
2015-22.4
2016-21.1
2017-21.2
2018-22.1
2019-22.2
2020-21.4
2021-21.1
2022-21.8
2023-22.6
2024-23.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

21%

21 March 2021 · Coventry local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.4%

21 March 2021 · Coventry local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.4%

21 March 2021 · Coventry local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£228,000

July 2026 · Coventry local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,020

August 2026 · Coventry local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.